lotus flower

lotus flower

Thursday, September 15, 2011


  • According to ayurveda, the five master elements of space, air, fire, water, and earth make up everthing in the universe, including our bodies. Biological systems weave the elements into three primary patterns known as doshas. Doshas are mind-body principles that create our mental and physical characteristics.

    Vata dosha, woven from the elements of space and air, regulates movement and change in our minds and bodies. Pitta dosha, comprised of fire and water, governs digestion and metabolism. Kapha dosha, made from earth and water, maintains and protects the integrity of our mind and body. While we each have all three doshas, most people have one predominant dosha. 
    Understanding our dosha type gives us invaluable insight into the specific steps we can take to nurture our physical health and emotional well-being.

    TAKE THE QUIZ ONLINE AT http://doshaquiz.chopra.com/

    VATA: We tend to be thin, light and quick in our thoughts and actions. Change is a constant part of our lives.
    When balanced, we are creative, enthusiastic and lively.
    When imbalanced, we may develop anxiety, insomnia or irregular digestion.

    PITTA: We tend to be muscular, smart and determined.
    When balanced, we are warm, intelligent and good leaders.
    When imbalanced, we can become critical, irritable and aggressive.

    KAPHA: We tend to have a heavier frame, think and move more leisurely and are stable.
    When balanced, we are calm, sweet and loyal.
    When imbalanced, we can gain weight, become congested and are resistant to healthy change.

    What's your dosha? And, as you continue to delve more deeply into learning more about yourself, how might you bring more health, more healing, more balance into your life at this time?
    If you'd like to discuss this topic further, just let me know...I love sharing this information...as 'WE ROLL ALONG OUR RESPECTIVE PATHS IN THIS LIFE'!
    Until we cross paths again, om shanti, om peace! ♥